4th Chakra – Heart

Air, Social identity, oriented to self-acceptance

This chakra is called the heart chakra and is the middle chakra in a system of seven. It is related to love and is the integrator of opposites in the psyche: mind and body, male and female, persona and shadow, ego and unity. A healthy fourth chakra allows us to love deeply, feel compassion, have a deep sense of peace and contentedness.

*Information from Dr. Anodea Judith

This chakra allows for orientation in the world. It is the balance point in the system and a natural point of connection between yourself and others. If you have unhealthy connections with others, what some call cords of attachment, you can strengthen your natural relationship with the other by acknowledging your heart connection, Recognizing and allowing flow through the heart will allow your system and the system of the other to release an inappropriate connection.

Sufi poets describe our individual nature as a drop in the ocean of all that is. We are connected all others in creation and the heart chakra is a natural point of connection and communication with others. The heart balances polarity and lets us know where we stand in a sea of thoughts and emotions. Being still and centered in the heart is a wonderful gift.

Breathing through the heart chakra in a figure 8 pattern can assist in releasing anywhere that we are fixed in polar dynamics. Again this will be a part of the chakra practices of the next few months of classes.

0 Pings & Trackbacks

Leave a Reply